APRICOT TREES EXIST / 2004 / 60 MINUTES


“This is the first time that a work has made me intimately understand the man behind it… Astonishing! Interesting from several perspectives, Apricot Trees Exist is also well-accompanied by its beautiful lighting […]”

François Dufort, DFdanse, 2004


Apricot Trees Exist was inspired by Alphabet, the renowned poem by Danish author Inger Christensen. This creation is an ode to daily life and the role played by wonder. The philosophical and visionary qualities of the poem are highlighted using simple references to daily life, trees, doves, fruit and paper. The banal and the marvellous rub shoulders like life and death; extracting deep meditative states. Roger Sinha handles this duality masterfully, shifting the dancers from the individual to the universal, from control to abandon and from proximity with others to isolation.


For more information

 

Apricot trees exists


Credits

Choreography / Roger Sinha / Rehearsal Direction / Sophie Michaud  / Dancers / David Flewelling, Sophie lavigne, Benoît Leduc, Julie Marcil, Magdalena Nowecka, George Stamos / Music / Bertrand Chénier / Lighting / Philippe Dupeyroux / Wardrobe / Louis Hudon / Video conception and projection / Philippe Dupeyroux (concept by Roger Sinha) / Text / Inger Christensen / English traduction / Susanne Nied / Voice / Roger Sinha (English)

This show was created in collaboration with the dancers. Sinha Danse thanks George Stamos, Lucie Vigneault and Tony Chong for their participation in the initial work.

Support our artistic work

NEWSLETTER

Join the Sinha Danse community
Sign up for our newsletter!

514 524-7997 / info@sinhadanse.com
4430, PARTHENAIS STREET. MONTREAL (QUEBEC)
H2H 2G5 CANADA

APRICOT TREES EXIST / 2004 / 60 MINUTES


« C’est la première fois qu’une œuvre me fait découvrir intimement l’homme qui est derrière elle…Étonnant!  Intéressante à plus d’un point de vue, Apricot Trees Exist est, en prime, accompagnée par les très beaux éclairages […] »

François Dufort, DFdanse, 2004


Apricot Trees Exist s’inspire d’Alphabet, le célèbre poème de l’écrivaine danoise Inger Christensen. Cette création est une ode au quotidien et à la part de merveilleux qu’il renferme. Les qualités philosophiques et visionnaires du poème sont mises en valeur à travers des références simples à la vie quotidienne, aux arbres, aux colombes, aux fruits et au papier. Le banal et le merveilleux se côtoient, tout comme la vie et la mort, suscitant des états méditatifs profonds. Roger Sinha manie ces dualités de mains de maître et fait passer les danseurs de l’individuel à l’universel, du contrôle à l’abandon, de la proximité avec les autres, à l’isolement.


En Savoir Plus

 

Dossier Apricots trees exists


Crédits

Chorégraphe / Roger Sinha / Répétitrice / Sophie Michaud  / Interprètes / David Flewelling, Sophie lavigne, Benoît Leduc, Julie Marcil, Magdalena Nowecka, George Stamos / Musique / Bertrand Chénier / Éclairages / Philippe Dupeyroux / Costumes / Louis Hudon / Conception et projection vidéo / Philippe Dupeyroux (d’après un concept de Roger Sinha) / Texte / Inger Christensen / Traduction anglaise / Susanne Nied / Voix / Roger Sinha (anglais)

Ce spectacle a été créé en collaboration avec les danseurs. Sinha Danse remercie George Stamos, Lucie Vigneault et Tony Chong d’avoir participé à l’ébauche initiale de l’œuvre.

Soutenez la création

INFOLETTRE

Joignez-vous à la communauté Sinha danse.
Inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre!

514 524-7997 / info@sinhadanse.com
4430, RUE PARTHENAIS. MONTRÉAL (QUÉBEC)
H2H 2G5 CANADA