MoW! Montre(olly)Wood / 2016 / 25 MINUTES


” MoW! Is my dream to realize the biggest Bollywood and contemporary dance fusion creation! Something never seen in Canada! “

– Roger Sinha


Montré(olly)Wood or MoW! is an original creation inspired by the popular success of the flashmob trend. MoW! brings together nearly 90 non-professional dancers. It combines contemporary western dance and Bollywood, a current style of popular dance based on Indian classical dance and folklore. Over the weeks, several professional dancers and the non-professionals work with Roger Sinha on a choreography created by himself and Bollywood choreographer Deepali Lindblom.

This intergenerational and intercultural creation highlights the value of community and serves as an excellent meeting point between professionals and a variety of citizens. Taking a collaborative and playful approach, MoW! reaches its pinnacle as a festive and contagious large-scale presentation.


Calendar

 

2018

August 18, Aga Khan Park, Toronto
August 19, Garden Square, Brampton
October 12, 6.30pm-9pm Bollywood Night: workshop + MoW! excerpts and DJ XL5’s Zappin’ PartyLumifest, Longueuil

November 9, 8pm  MoW! On the Move excerpts, Older & Reckless, Toronto

 November 10, 2pm and 8pm  MoW! On the Move excerpts, Older & Reckless, Toronto

2017

July 8, 7pm – Place de la Gare-Jean-Talon, Montreal
July 8-9, 2pm – Ottaw(olly)Wood, Ottawa
July 12, 8pm – Parc La Fontaine, Montreal
July 19, 5.30pm – Prince-Arthur St / Saint-Dominique St, Montreal
August 5, 3.15pm – Nova Stella – L’art d’être différents ensemble, Place des festivals, Montreal

2016

July 1  – Greenfield Park, Longueuil
July 2  – Place Charles-Le Moyne, Longueuil
October 22 – Espace culturel Georges-Émile-Lapalme, Place des Arts, Montreal


About the creators

Roger Sinha

Roger Sinha

Choreographer

Roger Sinha was born in England to an Armenian mother and an Indian father. Roger grew up in Canada where he graduated from the Toronto Dance Theatre, drawing inspiration from his cultural background to develop his unique language of movement and personal choreography. He draws his vocabulary from contemporary dance, martial arts, ballet with subtle hints of Barata-Natyam, Indian dance.  “Sinha is a creative powerhouse whose onstage presence is as generous as it is captivating”- Voir, 1995. See full biography

Deepali Lindblom

Deepali Lindblom

choreographer

Deepali Lindblom is a performer, choreographer, and actress specialized in Bollywood dance and several folk dances from India. She is also trained in Kathak and Indian classical theater and holds a diploma in film and television production. In 2009, she wrote, directed and played the musicals, Legend of the Necklace and Lha Gyalo, which were presented at the Bell Center in Montreal during the visit of His Holiness the Dalai Lama. In 2014, Deepali created I Dream of India for the Just for Laughs Festival. Her choreographies were presented in several events including the Soirée des Jutras (now the Quebec Cinema Gala) and the show Les Grandes Entrevues.


Credits

ARTISTIC DIRECTION / ROGER SINHA / CHOREOGRAPHY / ROGER SINHA & DEEPALI LINDBLOM / TEACHING ASSISTANTS AND DANCERS 2016-2017 / DAVID CAMPBELL, FANNIE CÔTÉ,  AMELIA LAMANQUE, BENOIT LEDUC, XAVIER MALO, JAMIE MALYSH, MARK MEDRANO, ERIN O’LOUGHLIN, CLÉMENTINE SCHINDLER, NATHAN JAN YAFFE,MARYSE GAUTHIER & ROGER SINHA / TECHNICAL DIRECTION / BENOIT LEGENDRE / SOUNDTRACK AND LIVE MUSICIAN / ROGER SINHA / VIDEO EDITING / ROGER SINHA

2018 Partners

This project is presented by Garden Square Brampton and the Aga Khan Museum in collaboration with the Government of Ontario and the Ismaili Centre Toronto.

2017 Partners

This initiative is made possible thanks to the Community Fund for Canada’s 150th, a collaboration between Canada’s community foundations, the Greater Montreal Foundation, the Government of Canada and extraordinary leaders from coast to coast to coast.

This version with the Montreal community is supported by PEYO, Loisirs du Parc in collaboration with Hors les murs program from Maison de la culture de Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension and support from Le Plateau-Mont-Royal.

2016 Partners

This project received support from Des ponts culturels, d’une rive à l’autre program. This initiative is a part of the Conseil des arts de Montréal and Culture Montréal collaboration with the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the société de la Place des Arts and the cities of Longueuil, Terrebonne and Sainte-JulieMoW! enjoyed a creation residency from February to June 2016 in Longueuil thanks to the support of the Bureau de la culture de la Ville de Longueuil and the Conseil des arts de Longueuil.

Sinha Danse thanks the UDA and Studio Corps & Âmes for their collaboration.

An enormous thanks to Yves Labrosse and Télévision Rive-Sud for their generous contribution of the video images.

Thank you to all the volunteers who took part in this crazy and joyous adventure with us.

Support our artistic work

NEWSLETTER

Join the Sinha Danse community
Sign up for our newsletter!

514 524-7997 / info@sinhadanse.com
4430, PARTHENAIS STREET. MONTREAL (QUEBEC)
H2H 2G5 CANADA

MoW! Montré(olly)Wood / 2016 / 25 MINUTES


« MoW! C’est mon pari fou de réaliser avec et dans la communauté la plus grande présentation de danse Bollywood alliée à la danse contemporaine! Du jamais vu au Canada! »

– Roger Sinha


Montré(olly)Wood ou MoW! est une création originale qui s’inspire d’un concept au succès planétaire, le flashmob. MoW! rassemble près de 90 participants non professionnels guidés par Roger Sinha et les danseurs de la compagnie. Le projet combine la danse contemporaine occidentale au Bollywood, un style actuel modelé sur les danses classiques, folkloriques et populaires indiennes. Au fil des semaines, les citoyens apprennent une chorégraphie de 25 minutes cosignée par Roger Sinha et Deepali Lindblom.

Cette création intergénérationnelle et interculturelle met en valeur la collectivité et constitue un point de rencontre exceptionnel entre danseurs professionnels et citoyens tous azimuts. Dans un esprit collaboratif et ludique, MoW! atteint son point culminant avec ses représentations festives et contagieuses.


Calendrier

 

2018

18 août, Aga Khan Park, Toronto
19 août, Garden Square, Brampton

2017

8 juillet 19h – Place de la Gare-Jean-Talon, Montréal
8-9 juillet 14h – Ottaw(olly)Wood, Ottawa
12 juillet 20h – Parc La Fontaine, Montréal
19  juillet 17h30 – rue Prince-Arthur/ Saint-Dominique, Montréal
5 août 15h15 – Nova Stella – L’art d’être différents ensemble, Place des festivals, Montréal

2016

1er juillet – Greenfield Park, Longueuil
2 juillet – Place Charles-Le Moyne, Longueuil
22 octobre – Espace culturel Georges-Émile-Lapalme, Place des Arts, Montréal


À propos des créateurs

Roger Sinha

Roger Sinha

CHORÉGRAPHE

Roger Sinha est né en Angleterre d’une mère arménienne et d’un père indien. Ayant grandi au Canada, diplômé de la School of Toronto Dance Theatre, il a tiré de ses origines l’essence même de son langage gestuel et de sa signature chorégraphique. Il puise son vocabulaire dans la danse contemporaine, les arts martiaux, le ballet et les subtilités de la danse indienne Barata-Natyam.  «  Sinha est un créateur puissant dont la présence scénique est aussi généreuse que captivante » – Voir, 1995. Voir la biographie complète.

Deepali Lindblom

Deepali Lindblom

choreographer

Deepali Lindblom est une interprète, chorégraphe et actrice, spécialiste de la danse Bollywood et de plusieurs danses folkloriques de l’Inde. Elle est également formée en Kathak et en théâtre classique indien et  titulaire d’un diplôme en production cinématographique et télévisuelle. En 2009, elle a écrit, réalisé et joué les pièces, Légende du collier et Lha Gyalo, qui ont été présentées au Centre Bell à Montréal lors de la visite de Sa Sainteté le Dalaï Lama. En 2014, Deepali a créé Je rêve de l’Inde pour le festival Juste pour rire. Ses chorégraphies ont été présentées dans plusieurs événements dont la Soirée des Jutras (maintenant le Gala Québec Cinéma) et l’émission Les Grandes Entrevues.


Crédits

 

DIRECTION ARTISTIQUE / ROGER SINHA / CHORÉGRAPHES / ROGER SINHA & DEEPALI LINDBLOM / ASSISTANTS AU CHORÉGRAPHE ET INTERPRÈTES 2016-2017 / DAVID CAMPBELL, FANNIE CÔTÉ,  AMELIA LAMANQUE, BENOIT LEDUC, XAVIER MALO, JAMIE MALYSH, MARK MEDRANO, ERIN O’LOUGHLIN, CLÉMENTINE SCHINDLER, NATHAN JAN YAFFE,MARYSE GAUTHIER & ROGER SINHA / DIRECTION TECHNIQUE / BENOIT LEGENDRE / MONTAGE MUSICAL ET MUSIQUE EN DIRECT / ROGER SINHA / MONTAGE VIDEO / ROGER SINHA

Partenaires 2018

Ce projet est présenté par Garden Square Brampton et le Aga Khan Museum en collaboration avec le Gouvernement de l’Ontario et le Ismaili Centre Toronto.

Partenaires 2017

Cette initiative est rendue possible grâce au Fonds communautaire pour le 150e anniversaire du Canada, qui est une collaboration entre la Fondation du Grand Montréal, le gouvernement du Canada et des leaders extraordinaires de l’Atlantique au Pacifique à l’Arctique.

Cette version avec les citoyens de Montréal bénéficie de l’aide de PEYO, les Loisirs du Parc en collaboration avec le programme Hors les murs de la maison de la culture de Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension et le support de l’arrondissement Le Plateau-Mont-Royal.

Partenaires 2016

Ce projet a reçu le soutien du Programme Des ponts culturels, d’une rive à l’autre, une initiative du Conseil des arts de Montréal et de Culture Montréal en collaboration avec le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, la société de la Place des Arts, les villes de Longueuil, Terrebonne et Sainte-JulieMoW! a bénéficié d’une résidence de création de février à juin 2016 à Longueuil avec le support du Bureau de la culture de la Ville de Longueuil et du Conseil des arts de Longueuil.

Sinha Danse remercie l’UDA et Studio Corps & Âmes pour leur collaboration.

Un très grand merci à Yves Labrosse et à Télévision Rive-Sud pour leur généreuse contribution aux images vidéo.

Merci à tous les participants bénévoles qui se sont lancés dans cette folle et joyeuse aventure à nos côtés!

Soutenez la création

INFOLETTRE

Joignez-vous à la communauté Sinha danse.
Inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre!

514 524-7997 / info@sinhadanse.com
4430, RUE PARTHENAIS. MONTRÉAL (QUÉBEC)
H2H 2G5 CANADA