THREAD / 2008 / 25 MINUTES


” The contrast between the West and the East is [..] at the heart of Thread, a magnificent duo with Natasha Bakht. […] Slow and graceful, their choreography is an alchemy of two refined styles of movement. “

Lili Marin, Le Devoir, 2008


Following the success of Loha in 2000, Natasha Bakht and Roger Sinha pursued their collaboration. Thread represents the guiding line that connects India’s past and present. Created in India, this creation translates their reflections into movement and is a reaction to the evolution of this monumental country. This is a poetic and streamlined work where tradition and modernity cohabitate through classical Indian dance and contemporary dance to create a dialogue of finesse and fusion.


For more information

 

Thread


About the creators

Roger Sinha

Roger Sinha

CHOREOGRAPHER

Roger Sinha was born in England to an Armenian mother and an Indian father. Roger grew up in Canada where he graduated from the Toronto Dance Theatre, drawing inspiration from his cultural background to develop his unique language of movement and personal choreography. He draws his vocabulary from contemporary dance, martial arts, ballet with subtle hints of Barata-Natyam, Indian dance.  “Sinha is a creative powerhouse whose onstage presence is as generous as it is captivating”- Voir, 1995. See full biography

Natasha Bakht

Natasha Bakht

co-choreographer

Natasha Bakht has trained in Bharatanatyam under Dr. Menaka Thakkar of Toronto.  She has danced in the Menaka Thakkar Dance Company performing primarily classical repertoire.  She performed contemporary dance with the Shobana Jeyasingh Dance Company in London, England, a renowned company for their avant-garde indian style. Law professor in Ottawa, she also leads an impressive international dance career with complex, refined and exigent solos.


Credits

 

Choreographers / Natasha Bakht and Roger Sinha / Dancers / Natasha Bakht or Ghislaine Doté & Roger Sinha / Composer / Bertrand Chénier / Lighting / Caroline Nadeau / Wardrobe / Marirosa

 

Sinha Danse thanks the MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels)

Support our artistic work

NEWSLETTER

Join the Sinha Danse community
Sign up for our newsletter!

514 524-7997 / info@sinhadanse.com
4430, PARTHENAIS STREET. MONTREAL (QUEBEC)
H2H 2G5 CANADA

THREAD / 2008 / 25 MINUTES


« Le contraste entre l’Orient et l’Occident se trouve […] au cœur de Thread, magnifique duo avec Natasha Bakht. […] Lente et gracieuse, leur chorégraphie fait l’alchimie de deux façons de bouger très raffinées »

Lili Marin, Le Devoir, 2008


Après le succès de Loha en 2000, Natasha Bakht et Roger Sinha poursuivent leur collaboration. Thread représente le fil conducteur qui unit l’Inde d’hier à l’Inde d’aujourd’hui. Amorcée en Inde, cette création traduit en mouvements leurs réflexions face à ce géant en pleine mutation. Une œuvre poétique et épurée où tradition et modernité cohabitent, à l’instar de la danse classique indienne et de la danse contemporaine qui dialoguent et fusionnent en toute finesse.


Pour en savoir plus

 

Thread

 


À propos des créateurs

Roger Sinha

Roger Sinha

CHORÉGRAPHE

Roger Sinha est né en Angleterre d’une mère arménienne et d’un père indien. Ayant grandi au Canada, diplômé de la School of Toronto Dance Theatre, il a tiré de ses origines l’essence même de son langage gestuel et de sa signature chorégraphique. Il puise son vocabulaire dans la danse contemporaine, les arts martiaux, le ballet et les subtilités de la danse indienne Barata-Natyam.  «  Sinha est un créateur puissant dont la présence scénique est aussi généreuse que captivante » – Voir, 1995. Voir la biographie complète.

Natasha Bakht

Natasha Bakht

co-chorégraphe

Natasha Bakht, interprète et chorégraphe au Canada, a reçu une formation en Bharata Natyam auprès de Menaka Thakkar plus de vingt ans. Elle a dansé pour la Shobana Jeyasingh Dance Company à Londres en Angleterre, une troupe réputée pour ses œuvres avant-gardistes en danse contemporaine indienne. Professeur en droit à Ottawa, elle mène une impressionnante carrière internationale comme interprète d’œuvres solos complexes, raffinées et exigeantes.


Crédits

 

Chorégraphes / Natasha Bakht et Roger Sinha / Interprètes / Natasha Bakht ou Ghislaine Doté & Roger Sinha / Compositeur / Bertrand Chénier / Éclairage / Caroline Nadeau / Costumes / Marirosa

Sinha Danse remercie le MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels).

Support our artistic work

INFOLETTRE

Joignez-vous à la communauté Sinha danse.
Inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre!

514 524-7997 / info@sinhadanse.com
4430, RUE PARTHENAIS. MONTRÉAL (QUÉBEC)
H2H 2G5 CANADA