fbpx

ZEROS & ONES / 2008 & 2015 / 32 MINUTES


” […] Poetically and politically charged. The musical selection recalls the warmth and clamour of India without falling prey to clichés, supports the piece’s proposal. Despite being in his late forties he commands the stage with intensity. His maturity has added precision to his movements. “

Lili Marin, Le Devoir, 2008


In September 2015, Roger Sinha returned to this solo and integrated live didgeridoo and the dance video The Barber of Bangalore. Developed in the Winter of 2008 in Bangalore, India’s “Silicon Valley”, the piece highlights the digital division of the e-haves and the e-have-nots. The touching text by Nadia Chaney reveals how technology and unbridled capitalism has had a devastating effect on the culture and environment of India as well as elsewhere. With a unique physical vocabulary that employs a hybrid of spoken word, video and didgereedoo, the solo examines how close the East and West can come together before colliding. This show is also available without video presentation.


For more information

 

Zeros & Ones


Calendar 2015-2016

 

September 12, 2015 – Maison de la culture Rosemont-La-Petite-Patrie, Quartiers Danses Festival, Montreal

September 18, 2015 – Maison de la culture Rosemont-La-Petite-Patrie, Quartiers Danses Festival, Montreal


About the creator

Roger sinha

Roger sinha

Dancer, choreographer

Roger Sinha was born in England to an Armenian mother and an Indian father. He grew up in Canada where he graduated from the Toronto Dance Theatre, drawing inspiration from his cultural background to develop his unique language of movement and personal choreography. He takes his vocabulary from contemporary dance, martial arts, ballet with subtle hints of Barata-Natyam, Indian dance.  “Sinha is a creative powerhouse whose onstage presence is as generous as it is captivating” – Voir, 1995. See full biography.

 

 


Credits 2015-2016

 

Choreography and dance / Roger Sinha / Text / Nadia Chaney / Translation / Emmanuel Schwartz / Original music / Dino Giancola, Ganesh Anandan, Roger Sinha (didgeridoo) / Other musics / Rossini, Sheila Chandra, Bikram Gosh / Musical design and direction / Roger Sinha / Video / Roger Sinha / Wardrobe / Josée Gagnon & Jane Doberman Hartford / Lighting / Caroline Nadeau / Technical direction / Jack Pilon

The 2015 version of Zeros & Ones benefitted from a residency at the Maison de la culture Rosemont-La-Petite-Patrie.

Support our artistic work

NEWSLETTER

Join the Sinha Danse community
Sign up for our newsletter!

514 524-7997 / info@sinhadanse.com
4430, PARTHENAIS STREET. MONTREAL (QUEBEC)
H2H 2G5 CANADA

ZEROS & ONES / 2008 & 2015 / 32 MINUTES


« […] une véritable charge poétique et politique. Le choix des musiques, qui évoquent la chaleur et la clameur de l’Inde sans tomber dans les clichés, appuie judicieusement le propos. La quarantaine avancée, il habite la scène avec intensité; la maturité s’ajoute à la précision du geste. »

Lili Marin, Le Devoir, 2008


En septembre 2015, Roger Sinha reprend ce solo en y intégrant du didgeridoo live et la vidéo tournée en Inde, Le Barbier de Bangalore. Conçue en janvier 2008 à Bangalore, la « Silicon Valley » de l’Inde, Zeros & Ones traduit la fracture numérique qui sépare les nantis et les démunis. Le texte évocateur de Nadia Chaney révèle comment la technologie et le capitalisme outrancier peuvent avoir un effet dévastateur sur la culture et l’environnement en l’Inde, mais aussi ailleurs. Avec un vocabulaire hybride où le mouvement, le mot « slamé », le didgeridoo et la vidéo favorisent l’éclosion d’un langage poétique, ce solo sonde comment l’Occident et l’Orient peuvent autant cohabiter que se nuire. Le spectacle est aussi disponible sans projection vidéo.


Pour en savoir plus

 

Zeros & Ones


Calendrier

 

12 septembre 2015 – Maison de la culture Rosemont-La-Petite-Patrie, festival Quartiers Danses, Montréal
18 septembre 2015 – Maison de la culture Maisonneuve, festival Quartiers Danses, Montréal


Crédits

 

Chorégraphe et interprète / Roger Sinha / Texte / Nadia Chaney / Traduction / Emmanuel Schwartz / Musique originale / Dino Giancola, Ganesh Anandan, Roger Sinha (digeridoo) / Autres musiques / Rossini, Sheila Chandra, Bikram Gosh / Conception musicale et montage / Roger Sinha / Vidéo / Roger Sinha / Costumes / Josée Gagnon & Jane Doberman Hartford / Éclairages / Caroline Nadeau / Direction technique / Jack Pilon

La version 2015 de Zeros & Ones a bénéficié d’une résidence à la Maison de la culture Rosemont-La-Petite-Patrie.


Distribution

Roger sinha

Roger sinha

Interprète, chorégraphe

Roger Sinha est né en Angleterre d’une mère arménienne et d’un père indien. Ayant grandi au Canada, diplômé de la School of Toronto Dance Theatre, il a tiré de ses origines l’essence même de son langage gestuel et de sa signature chorégraphique. Il puise son vocabulaire dans la danse contemporaine, les arts martiaux, le ballet et les subtilités de la danse indienne Barata-Natyam.  « Sinha est un créateur puissant dont la présence scénique est aussi généreuse que captivante » – Voir, 1995. Voir la biographie complète.

Soutenez la création

INFOLETTRE

Joignez-vous à la communauté Sinha danse.
Inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre!

514 524-7997 / info@sinhadanse.com
4430, RUE PARTHENAIS. MONTRÉAL (QUÉBEC)
H2H 2G5 CANADA